I am forever thankful for the incredible woman I adopted as my mentor. Mentors are persons you know who are doing what you want to do, so you engage them in a relationship that will allow you to glean from their experience and skills that you may learn and grow from them. Usually such a relationship is consensual in an ask and accept manner but I feel ours was a God-bond that has enriched my life in an unforgettable way. I wrote about it a few years ago – here, https://simplyphenomenal.wordpress.com/2012/11/04/reflections-of-a-mentor/.

Recently, I have committed to participate as a mentor in a start-up mentoring program. I believe strongly in the premise of mentoring. I learned early in my adult life that you cannot grow from lateral relationships – people who act, think and communicate like you. You must seek out those who know more, do more and can help you to be more than what you are.

“It is so essential to surround yourself with individuals

who are ALREADY where you want to be.

Iron sharpens iron.” — Unknown

empower

I must say I’m a little nervous about this new undertaking but I’m looking forward to the possibilities of impacting the life of a young woman as the Bible instructs sage women to do. I pray that the values and example she observes of me will be those that she desires to emulate in her own life.

Considering an analogy, I think about the spiritual mothers and sisters who have exemplified holy living, modesty, godliness, and Christian leadership in my life. What they have given me was mostly modeled, some taught. What was exceptional about the relationship with my mentor is that she took me along side of her, gave me opportunities to use the skills I had and to develop new ones. She added value to my life and made me feel like I was an asset … she enforced that belief in me.

“Tell me and I forget,

Teach me and I may remember,

INVOLVE me and I learn.” – Benjamin Franklin

Even after so many years of different paths, we are still connected and I’m still so greatly blessed by her intrinsic, God-inspired nature to empower others to their highest potential.

It has been said God does not call the qualified, He qualifies the called.

I am answering the call.

empowerme