I have finally reached the time when I celebrate my transformation. For so long compliments were nice but I still didn’t see or feel it for myself.
Now, right behind an inward celebratory thought of ‘you’ve done well’, ‘you look good’, is a taunt ‘you’re going to be a public failure like Oprah’. She made her weight loss journey so public and then gained all her weight back. It is scary to think about it. I have lived out my journey on FB and here on this blog for all the social media world to see. While I feel that my transformation, all that I have learned and the new behaviors I have adopted are pretty solid, I wonder.
Will I maintain the gain?!
The reality is my lifestyle must be forever committed to my personal wellness and fitness. I must continue to make the best choices for my health and for my life. Eating well, even better and moving as long as this body will go. It is both exhilarating and exhausting, I’m not a young woman, I’m a grandmother!:-) I know several people who have gone to the extremes of weight loss surgery and they have gained the weight back. People who have lost a significant amount of weight and gained the weight back. I just cannot.
I always share that this is as much a spiritual journey as anything that we trust God for or depend on Him to do for us. I know then that I must affirm all that I have achieved and who I have become. It is more than the weight loss, it is my sense of self. Who I was, who I am, and who I am becoming. I have been stretched beyond anything I ever thought possible of myself. I have gained so much.
My Prayer:
Lord, change me from the inside out that healthy thoughts continue to govern my behavior and that I will continue to have strength of mind, body and spirit to maintain the gain. Pure and simple, I pray for discipline and determination to win over indulgences and seeking comfort in food. I know that by Your hands I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I know that You have created me and refined me in the fire. I know that my body is Your temple, that you have given it to me whole, well and beautiful. I know that Your hands form, frame and shape my being. I know that it is You Who has helped me and I will depend on You ALWAYS.