Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am joining Lisa- Jo Baker for http://lisajobaker.com/2014/06/five-minute-friday-lost/.

We gather once a week to write for five minutes on a prompt. No editing, just raw and real. This week’s prompt is LOST.

For so long I was LOST in a quagmire of excuses and defeat. For at least thirty years (after birthing babies) I lost the weight loss battle time and time again. But that was then and this is now and this is not a writing of what used to be.

“Nothing builds self-esteem and self-confidence like accomplishment.” ~ Thomas Carlyle

I’m winning now! Having LOST more than thirty pounds over the past 24 weeks, I have much to be thankful for, much to celebrate, and still a ways to go. [Photos: January 2014; June 2014]

imageimage

It was beyond my reach, beyond my ability to believe enough that I could do it. I was so afraid of failure I wouldn’t even try. Fear will do that and it never goes away. At every juncture of a new challenge or commitment I’m fighting through fear but with a new perspective. Because it is every fear we look in the face and defy that brings us closer to the achievement of anything we desire in life. It is the small victories that empower us the more. I have a goal-driven tenacity that pushes me to stay true to my commitment to myself.

[So I’ve lost track of time and expect I’ve exceeded the five minutes for this writing.]

But I’m somewhat of an ambassador now and I want everyone to achieve the goals that I have achieved and more. I want a crew in this with me fighting and winning this battle together.

If you’re reading this and you feel like you’re sinking in a quagmire of defeat, fight!
No. 1, pray and trust God like you do for everything else in your life.
No. 2, change your thinking, change your speaking, change your behavior … Change.
No. 3, take the first step, strategize for success, set goals, focus on your goals, make a plan, work your plan.

“Without weight loss goals, and diet and exercise plans to reach them, you are lost with no direction.”~ Felicity Luckey, Great Minds Think Fit

No. 4, if you get knocked down or pinned to the ropes, don’t be defeated, get back up, get back in the fight.
No. 5, give it your all, stretch yourself, try new things, you’ll discover you can do more than you ever imagined.
These are a few starter tips to inspire you – from me, an ambassador … Who knew?!