My sister taught us in Sunday School this past Sunday that we are “GUSHERS” of promise. That we are pregnant with purpose and impact. She taught us that we cannot be pregnant forever, we must give birth at the time of full development. I am feeling a growth spurt in a very real way. I feel it physically although I know it is a STRETCHing in the totality of who I am, who I desire to be and what I desire to do. I am reminded of one of my favorite quotes by Rubin Hurricane Carter that states, “We must transcend the things and places that hold us” and another that states ‘we must leave or let go of the things that compromise our wholeness’.

womanWhile visiting Santa Fe earlier this week I saw a beautiful sculpture fixed in front of one of the galleries along Palace Avenue.  This masterpiece of a Native American woman immediately reminded me of a Greek term my Pastor taught about, Apokaradokia, which means watching with outstretched head; strained expectancy; and eager longing. I love this piece. It is alluring, regal, strong and profoundly engaging. Like her, I am anticipating God with every ounce of my being.
At the Divine Alignment Women’s Conference I attended in Albuquerque this past weekend, Pastor Michelle Beal used the analogy of how when we are in love, we check and wait for a call from our beloved. She told us to check out phones for a call from God or our log for a missed call from Him. I am concentrating on receiving His call, not missing one. I don’t know what it is, but I know God’s blessing is rich and He adds no sorrow to it. I know that what He has for me, is for me. I know that I am blessed in the city, the field, blessed coming and going, my home, my family, the workplace, the Sanctuary, simply blessed, blessed, blessed.
So I am looking out the window, around the corner, and through the open door with outstretched head and eager longing.
What about you? I encourage you again to STRETCH your expectation of Him. Do not sell God short. He can and will not fail, nor will He disappoint you.
O God, my heart, my mind, my soul, every part of me longs for You.
You alone fill my every longing, You alone fill my hope.
With complete openness (withholding nothing) and a tender heart, I anticipate You, I reach for You, I STRETCH.