Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

We’ve all seen the scenes on television or film of the campus or prison dining hall that erupts when someone yells, “food fight!” Then you see food flying and mayhem until the principal or warden comes in and wrestles someone to the floor or yells for order. No, I’m not talking about that kind of food fight.
I’m talking about the food fight that we don’t know we are fighting.
I can’t remember when I first heard or read, ‘I need to change my relationship with food’. That was an ah-ha moment for me. I had never thought of it like that before.
Many of us have this dependency, sugar-daddy like relationship with food. ‘It makes everything good, better, best. Everything good is somehow tied to eating, and unfortunately eating unhealthy, but oh so satiating, fat and sugar and salt and processed compositions, in a box, bag or from a window.
Particularly as African Americans many prevalent chronic illnesses in our ethnic community are linked to our diets. Cancer, heart disease, diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, inflammation and obesity. These all present themselves in weight gain, fatigue, migraines, joint and muscle pain, toxicity and many ways that keep us asking ourselves, “What is wrong with me?” This is not a medical blog nor am I a medical expert or practitioner. So back to the fight.
Much of our life is tied to the lust of the cheeseburger, lust of the fried chicken, lust of the bacon, butter and deep fried, creamy, smothered, sweet, caffeinated whatever. Our senses tell us we have to have it, we can’t live without it. So even though our sugar-daddy is not good for us, we hold on to him, we stay in the fight and we keep losing. Why is that?
For so long (and still now) I was in the matrix of this food fight, this compulsive eating. It would pick me up, comfort me, then let me down, crash and cast me aside. Comfort my stress, anxiety, laden my happy times and occasions for celebration. I guess we all are dependent on something. Food seems to be the lesser of evils when you think about drugs, alcohol, nicotine, sex. However, the fight rages on.
How to stop the madness? When you have a poor relationship with food, always choosing the ‘bad boy’? You change your thinking. Ah, behavior modification, new input, thought change, education and information, but mostly desire and determination. Practice, discipline, PRAYER, more of that, and a whole new fight.
A fight for my life, my health, my well being. In the new fight, I (and you) WIN!

“We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.” ~Albert Einstein

[This is lengthy and inconclusive, but pushed out of my sleep at 5 AM this morning. I pray it blesses and inspires someone in their fight.]