Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Fear of failing held me hostage for an eternity. I finally realized it was just an excuse (filled with corruption). The battle is in our minds, right. That’s a lesson we know all too well. The voices and ‘stinking thinking’ that derail our efforts and successes shout so loudly that we shut down under the weight of contemptible excuses.
This writing is just a response to the voices and ‘stinking thinking’, SIT DOWN AND HUSH!
My sister-friend said she is withholding from beginning a healthy eating discipline because she fears failing. My Bishop Charles William Watkins (In Heaven) always taught us, “You’re never a failure until you stop trying.” But what if you never even TRY?!
I can only share my own experience of my still unyielding battle with healthy eating choices and weight loss. So many other things in life too, fearing I would not succeed so not even trying. Fortunately, though, I’ve enjoyed some successes just by taking the first step.
I finally went to the dentist after nearly half my life to rid my body of toxins that could kill me. That was a life-changing experience for me. Oral health and a never-before seen beautiful smile that increased my confidence and self-love. Then I applied to college at age 50, enrolled in my first course, pursued my undergraduate degree, completed my B.A. and walked across that stage at age 55 with all the memorable Pomp and Circumstance … a dream realized for myself.
But this weight! It seemed insurmountable. I read what to do. I knew what to do. I went to Zumba. I consutled with a Nutrition Coach. But mostly I kept eating poorly (cake and potatoes several times a day), exercising sporadically (not really) and drinking wonderul delicious lattes … because I feared failing. I’m convinced too that there are underlying constructs that feed into our food dependencies. (That’s a subject for another writing.)
My time came though, this year!
I decided at the beginning of the year, this would be my year. I asked what am I going to do this year, what am I going to focus on and the response was ‘Me’. The Daniel Fast was still a thought looming in my head from last year. I bought the book, read the book, but I didn’t do it. This time (timing is everything), I was fed up with how I felt, how I looked, the whole dilemma. January 5, 2014 was my day, the Lord has and continues to be my guide and strength and I haven’t looked back.
“Faith is taking the first step when you don’t see the whole staircase.”
~ Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
EVERY DAY, I’m taking first steps.
Do it with me, squash the fear.
Just by taking the first step, you already WIN!
#winning