Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My Son-in-Love said the most profound thing the other day …
We were driving home and his baby daughter, Astrid, was crying so her Mom offered her a potato chip.
Her Dad said to her, “Astrid, don’t feed your emotions with food.”
She’s only 16 mos old but that lesson, even now while she is young, is a critical one that I can relate to. He offered some alternative ways she should comfort her emotions but that statement was like a sonic boom to me. What a great lesson. I pray he keeps teaching her and she learns it well.
I know I’m an emotional eater. Eat when I’m happy, eat when I’m anxious, eat when I’m sad. The downfall is that it is usually unhealthy food that we choose to comfort us or that we choose to celebrate a happy time.
I’ve been on a healthy eating journey for 10 weeks and the same patterns persist. When my emotional equilibrium is off kilter, reach for something to satisfy. Fortunately, I now reach for a piece of fruit or some nuts. The point, however, is that behavior or mindset that has to be unlearned or never taught or developed. I remember teaching a Women’s Sunday School lesson many years ago about not letting our emotions control us but using them to our advantage. I wish I could find my notes from that now.
Generally though, we are slaves to our emotions, making bad decisions, being impulsive and irrational, not listening to what we know to be true and good, not listening to God. We are driven by them. We must reign them in. Like all binding, smothering strongholds of our lives, we must bring our emotions under subjection to more holistic thoughts of truth and faith. The battle is in the mind, our thought processes which act as a power surge to our emotions. So we have to constantly combat with God’s Word, His promises, positivity, healthy influences and environments, and learning. While learning, get understanding, apply wisdom, GROW. Constantly, consistently, persistently doing battle with perseverance and tenacity to not give up, but to WIN.
So Dominic is teaching Astrid well and his Mom-in-Love too.
Let your emotions work for you so that you will have VICTORY.
Philippians 4:7-9 ~
And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.
Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.