Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

WRITE is one of the nine concepts Valorie Burton introduces in her book, “Successful Women Think Differently”. Our Women’s Ministry read the book and discussed its highlights in our monthly women’s fellowship last month. I was one of the discussion leaders and I chose the last concept, Write. I chose it because I knew I could speak passionately about it.

Burton premised the concept on the familiar scripture from Habakkuk 2:2-3, Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets, so that a herald may run with it. For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false.
The points I shared, which were my takeaways from the chapter or Habit 9 included:
(1) The “acknowledgement and validity” that is produced when you write something down, even more than when you speak it.
(2) Burton’s powerful statement: “If you write from a truthful place, whatever that truth is, you have the opportunity to benefit tremendously from the conscious art of writing.”
(3) There is power in the pen … write for a breakthrough and through your fear by peeling back the layers of self-doubt to self-awareness.

Please consider purchasing the book to learn all “9 Habits to Make You Happier, Healthier & More Resilient”. http://www.valorieburton.com

I finished my points exclaiming to the women, Write! That was several weeks ago and I haven’t written intentionally for over a month.
With a little release in my spirit and this status post of a FB friend today, I was reminded like a blaring siren to Write.
“Your vision is the promise of what you shall one day be….’write the vision’.”

Writing from that ‘truthful place’, writing for a ‘breakthrough’, writing ‘through fear’, writing ‘about your best possible future self’, the one you’re afraid to imagine. When you write it, it validates it, it releases it into the atmosphere, out of hiding. When you write it, it gives power to it, out of your control. When you write it, it births into being.

So here I write another reminder, in the words of C.S. Lewis, Phyllis, “You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.” And with that a prayer, Lord, give me a new dream.

My reader, my friend, you too, dream a new dream and Write it down.