Do you ever feel like you’re completely lost in space, grappling in the air while sinking into some weightless abyss?
Feeling disconnected from everything and everyone. Searching for answers to questions you cannot phrase and thoughts that have no sensibility.
Even your prayers seem to just hang lifeless midair and you see them oscillating there waiting for Him to retrieve them, to respond, to stabilize you.
Lord, it’s me. Do You see me, do You hear me? I know You do.
I feel a gulf between us. I need You.
Those times when everything you felt was sure and grounded, turns topsy-turvy and nothing is clear … your existence, your contribution, your needfulness. All queries with answers closeted by self-doubt, discontent, and wanting. Worry clouds your faith-thinking, clatter drowns out the promises of His Word, and disillusionment crushes your judgment of what you know to be true.
You know it is a temporal state of being but nevertheless very real. You just want the low hanging clouds to lift and the sun to burst through lighting a path to something new, promising, and life-giving.
Then, the prayer of David whispers from the depths of your heart …
“Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and He shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.” ~ Psalm 27:14
Waiting.
Selah.