Tags

, , , , ,

psalmsspaphoto

For the word of the Lord is right and true;
he is faithful in all he does.
The Lord loves righteousness and justice;
the earth is full of his unfailing love.
By the word of the Lord the heavens were made,
their starry host by the breath of his mouth.
He gathers the waters of the sea into jars;
he puts the deep into storehouses.
Let all the earth fear the Lord;
let all the people of the world revere him.
For he spoke, and it came to be;
he commanded, and it stood firm.
~ Psalm 33:4-9 NIV

I’ve heard it said before how characters in the Bible and the stories of their lives mirror our own so well.
I’ve been reading the Psalms on a SPA journey with Gwen Smith of Girlfriends In God, a Summer Psalm Adventure (link up below).

My challenge in getting into God’s Word has always been the language and historical context so I decided to read the Psalms in the NIV and The Living Bible. This past weekend while sitting with my feet in the cool waters of our pool I listened to the audio reading of some of the Psalms. The Word of God is so alive and it effortlessly enlivens wherever it flows. I’m glad I committed to the SPA journey because that accountability keeps me committed.

These first 50 songs of David have wearied me and encouraged me. David was so wishy-washy, wouldn’t you agree? I kept thinking, get it together already. Just a roller coaster of Victory and Despair, Peaks and Valleys, Courage and Fear, Declaring Christ and Questioning Christ.

How we must weary God with our see-saw faith. One day, victorious, conquering, powerfully proclaiming God’s greatness and the next, despairing, fearful, pleading for His rescue. Assured today and whining the next when we don’t hear Him, when we don’t feel Him, when we don’t see Him because He sits in silence watching us, listening to us, examining our pitiful state.

Our God is merciful, but He is also a righteous judge. He is loving, but He is also a disciplinarian. Most importantly, He is our Father. He is ever present, even when He feels distant. He is always defending us, even when He knows we need chastisement. He loves us, even when we are not worthy of His love. David seemed to doubt God when he doubted himself; he seemed to conceive when he erred or fell short, that God was somehow like him. God is not like man and praise Him for that. God, in all of His paramount divineness dealing with us in all of our humanness, won’t let go of us.

So let us be careful not to get tripped up in our missteps or shortcomings but to come boldly to our Father, confessing our faults that He may forgive us and no judgment will touch us. (Psalm 32:6 The Living Bible) We must love God with a pure heart, always holding Him in esteemed reverence knowing He does not change, He is not like man. We can trust Him, we can depend upon Him, He will not ever forsake us, He won’t let go of us.

Enjoy this Worship Song by Israel Houghton,

You hold my world in Your hands and I am amazed at Your Love
I am amazed that You Love me … Oh how You love me!
You won’t let go of me, You won’t let go of me (You will take care of me)
You won’t let go of me, You won’t let go, never let go.

gwen_30day_spa_banner
http://www.gwensmith.net/30-day-summer-psalm-adventure/