Tags

, , ,

mother

In just five minutes. Tell me all about what your mama did that made her yours….

What Mama Did
When I was really young, my parents divorced. When I was seven years old my Mother relocated from Pompano Beach FL to Cleveland OH with her companion who would become her common-law husband, my stepfather. They were married for most of my childhood until I was a student in junior high (now known as middle) school. My sister and I are 15 years apart, so during this time, she was an adult still living in Florida … it was just my Mom, stepdad and I.
What my Mama did that made her mine was commit her life to taking care of us (she and I). After two divorces, domestic violence and abuse (which I didn’t know then like I know now) which I understand now must have been a nightmare of a lifle, my Mother took care of us.
I reflect on the years of my life when I did not lack for anything. My mother worked and she took care of me. We always had a safe place to live, I never was hungry, I never missed school, I enjoyed my childhood, I was disciplined, I had boundaries, but I also had opportunities and quality learning experiences. She introduced me to Christ in the way that she knew, she taught me faith, she loved to pray and read her Bible (which I still have).
My mother did not have more than an 8th grade education, but she modeled resourcefulness and excellence before me. As an adult, I appreciate the example my Mother lived before me and the life lessons she taught me. Even when I rebelled because I wanted to be like my friends, my Mother loved me enough to parent me with high standards and expectations.
So much of her wisdom comes back to me, echoing life values that I pray I have modeled and continue to pass along to my children. My Mother lost her battle with Alzheimer’s disease and pancreatic cancer almost four years ago. She was 83 years old.
mama
I miss her, the lady I knew before Alzheimer’s, the lady with style, strength of purpose, pride, moxie and wisdom.
I have our memories forever.
I miss her.