Inn-on-Coventry-010-300x225

2785 Euclid Heights Boulevard, Cleveland Hts OH 44106 (http://innoncoventry.com)

“Home-style cooking at it’s best! We’re a family-oriented commuity restaurant, offering high-quality, good-value meals. We have a passion for cooking. Established in 1981, we are a mom-and-mom restaurant…and our matriarch is 96 years old!  After twenty-nine years…we’re still doing what we do best.”

 Oh my goodness! The way you feel when you walk in there … just real homey and comforting with the inviting whiff of breakfast cooking! (They serve lunch and dinner too.)

Has Guy Fieri ever been to the Inn on Coventry? He definitely must!

I’m amazed every time we go there.  It is packed to the wood beams with people from all over town I imagine because the food is soooo good, the value is so great, and the service is cordial.

My husband and I, with our precious grandbaby, Astrid, in tow stopped in for our most recent dining experience this past Saturday morning.

He always gets an omelette and I, of course, the Mango Pancakes.  My daughter hipped me to the Lemon Ricotta pancakes though so I had to try one. Okay, this pancake is a creation of lucious, scrumptiousness that makes you close your eyes with the first bite.

brkfst1

I don’t know how the Inn makes them, but I looked up a recipe to share: Fluffy ricotta and fresh lemon zest are a perfect pair when swirled into an airy pancake. The biggest challenge with this recipe is sharing the pancakes with others. For best results, use fresh whole-milk ricotta cheese. (Source: http://www.chow.com/recipes/28985-lemon-ricotta-pancakes)

brkfst2

Scrambled Eggs with Cheese, Home Fries, Sausage and Mango Pancake

The Inn on Coventry is a wonderful way to start your Saturday or any day … breakfast is served all day.  I wonder what the seating capacity is, because you definitely sit chair-to-chair, table-to-table, bumping arms with your neighbor. No matter though, there is no pretense here, just good home-style cooking. The Sun Press said, it’s “… comfort food, tasting like it’s straight from Mom’s kitchen.” (Acclaim, July 2007)

Eyes-closed yummy goodness!