Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

african_american_woman_looking_up“Why are you cast down, O my soul? and why are you disturbed within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.” ~ Psalm 42:11

I’ve been anticipating the new year like never before in my memory.  Not sure why. 

I think of all the times we teach our young people to enjoy their youth, not to wish their life away.  How we’re always wishing for the weekend, the next special occasion or next season, but that we should not wish our lives away.  We should appreciate every millesecond of time, every tick on the clock of life, every God-given breath that allows us to live, move and have our being in Him. 

This year, 2012, has been a year of loss and great gain.  My Mother-in-Love went to Heaven in August, that loss has left an empty, unfillable space in our hearts and family circle.  As has the loss of my Mother in 2008 and other family members over the past eight years. The great gain though is that I finished my undergraduate degree, our precious granddaughter, Astrid Emilie, was born, and I celebrated a milestone birthday this year which are immeasurable blessings from God.

journeyway

As I approach this journeyway into the new year, I have an introspection that is somewhat unfamiliar.  A feeling of abandoning something in the old, while anticipating so greatly the ‘new’ of the new.  I have goals and dreams for the new year, they hold great promise for my life and the love of my life … I pray God allows them to be.  So, I wrestle incessantly to defeat the fear of life’s mean twists so that I may wear the banner of courage and faith as a cloak of honor when I reverently worship before the throne of my Father.

clock

Therefore, with my hand and my life in His hand, while taking these final steps in 2012, I remain steadfastly confident in my God whose purpose for me is greater than I could ever imagine for myself.  And when the pendulum of the clock snaps over to 12:01 to begin 2013, I will bow my head and my heart to whisper a prayer to say, “Thank You, God”, for the old and for the new.

2013 Blessings … Don’t miss the Beautiful!