Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Five Minute Friday

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back and invite others to join in, http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/.
3. Visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community…OK, are you ready? Please give us your best five minutes on: WONDER

wonder-940x626“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called WONDERful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace. Of the increase of his government and peace there shall be no end, upon the throne of David, and upon his kingdom, to order it, and to establish it with judgment and with justice from henceforth even for ever. The zeal of the Lord of hosts will perform this.”  ~ Isaiah 9:6-7

I marvel at the great love of God. His wonder surpasses my finite capacity to understand it.  His life-giving, life-changing wonder is seen in every facet of life.  Through the atmosphere, the Earth’s yielding of nature, the creation of humanity.  Through His long suffering patience with mankind, through His mercy and grace that sustains our lives when we’re not worthy.  Oh, His forgiveness.  He forgives us over and over.  He loves us inspite of our wretchedness.  The wonder of His love.  The wonder of His heart.  The wonder of His sacrifice.  When I think of Him, I cannot comprehend His wonder.  He is a wonder in my soul.  I just know that I love Him, O sweet Wonder.

 This beautiful refrain is from an old hymn of the Church. I just learned today that it was written by one of the Founding Fathers of my faith, Bishop Garfield T. Haywood.

O sweet Wonder! O sweet Wonder! Jesus the Son of God; How I adore Thee! O how I love Thee! Jesus the Son of God. 

And yet another praise lingers in my spirit when I think of this word, WONDER

He’s a wonder in my soul; He’s a wonder in my soul; He’s a wonder in my soul; Bless His Name!

wonderRemind-of-love

5minutefriday