Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On October 11, 2012 at 10:26 AM I witnessed a miracle.

My granddaughter was born into this world.  It was a most amazing and yet overwhelming experience for me.  First, to see my Daughter bring her first child into the world was more than my finite mind could comprehend. I’m so proud of her.  My Son-in-Love too, he was the best coach and supporter.

But back to this miracle, having had my own three babies by Caesarean, I never experienced childbirth like my Daughter.  How God created our bodies to bring a life into the world is beyond words.  James Weldon Johnson penned it this way:

“Then God sat down on the side of a hill where He could think; by a deep, wide river He sat down; With His head in His hands, God thought and thought, Til He thought, I’ll make me a man! Up from the bed of the river God scooped the clay; And by the bank of the river He kneeled Him down; And there the Great God Almighty Who lit the sun and fixed it in the sky, Who flung the stars to the most far corner of the night, Who rounded the earth in the middle of His hand, this Great God, like a mammyr bending over her baby, kneeled down in the dust, tolling over a lump of clay, till He shaped it in His own image. Then in it He blew the breath of life, and man became a living soul.” (God’s Trombones:The Creation)

Then to see that beautiful life come forth, having traveled through bone, blood, tissue, and life-sustaining fluid … a new life of promise, joy, and wonder … is emotionally overpowering every single time I reflect upon it.  Something only God can do certainly sums up this miraculous life event.  How anyone can take life for granted, diminish its value, abuse it, or not love it is unthinkable.

My heart nor my vocabulary can express my gratitude to God for this miracle of Astrid Emilie Seals whom He gave to us Thursday morning.  He, Himself, created her little body and I am indeed a witness that He is still working miracles.*Q