Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I read blogger tips and advice to authors that exclaim, ‘just write.’ But I find myself always struggling to find something to write about. Always questioning reader interest, validation of my voice or words, constantly trying to push through the self-doubt of why my words matter. I never want to write out of some dark place, conflict, judgment, reprimand or scorn. I always want my writing to be inspirational, empowering, and purposeful. I guess that is why I’m so reluctant to just write.

The word of God advises to let our words be pure, blessings not cursings, and edifying. Titus 2 admonishes the older women to teach the younger ones; Proverbs 31:26 speaks of the Virtuous woman as one who “… openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness; and in Psalm 19:14, the psalmist David prays, “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.”

So when I write, I pray the source of my inspiration will come not only from experiences and current trends, but more importantly from a heart to honor God with my words and from the illumination of a healthy place to speak wisdom, to encourage, and to build up.